Tuks FM, the reigning Campus Station of the Year, has received a massive 19 nominations for this year’s South African Radio Awards.

This is an increase from last year’s 16 nods (excluding two Bright Star nominations). That tally does not feature any potential nominations for the Bright Star or the newly created Station Manager’s Choice categories, for which Tuks FM entered four candidates.

The nominations received thus far are as follows:

  • Campus Station of the Year;
  • Afternoon Drive presenter x3: Nthabeleng Matela, Retshepile Seakamela and Ipeleng Thakanyane;
  • Afternoon Drive Show;
  • Breakfast Show Presenter: Naledi Makgatho;
  • Breakfast Show;
  • Community Project x2: See the Sounds: A radio broadcast for the deaf, and The Reform Platform;
  • Content Producer x2: Breakfast Show and The Sex Show – Duane van Wyk and Henrietta Amofa;
  • Music Show: The Tuks FM Top 40;
  • New Bulletin Reader: Nthabeleng Matela;
  • Night-time Show: What’s the Vibe: Sports Recap;
  • Promotions Stunt/Event x2: See the Sounds: A radio broadcast for the deaf, and The Tuks FM Balcony Sessions;
  • Radio Documentary: 012 Are We Racist?;
  • Station Imaging;
  • Weekend Radio Show: 012 Essence;

In a rare feat, Tuks FM was nominated in three mixed categories, which feature stations in the commercial, PBS and Community Sectors. These were for Content Producer; Station Imaging and Radio Documentary.

Last year, Tuks FM won six awards, including Station of the Year. The gala event, which was scheduled for 18 April, has been cancelled due to COVID-19. Winners will be announced online on 17 April at 14:00.