Monthly Archives Apr 2020

Tuks FM’s station manager, Leanne Kunz, will join a panel discussion, hosted by The Radio Awards which will explore industry trends, Covid-19’s impact on radio and several other issues concerning the broadcast space.

The panel will be hosted by Tuks FM alumnus, Tim Zunckel and will also feature Greg Maloka (MD of Kaya FM – Commercial Station of the Year Award winner) and Kaibe Mollo (head of marketing at African Bank).

Click here to read the full article.

The panel discussion will take place on Tuesday, April 28 2020 at 9.30am. To register and watch online, click here.

Read More

Tuks FM has won the coveted Campus Station of the Year award for a sixth time, extending its national record over the rest of the radio sector.

Tuks FM is the only radio station in the country to have won the Station of the Year award that many times. The nearest competitor has won the accolade four times. The South African Radio Awards were hosted digitally on 17 April at 14:00 after the gala event was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tuks FM also won five other awards:

  • Afternoon Drive Presenter: Nthabeleng Matela
  • Breakfast Show: The Tuks FM Breakfast Show
  • Community Project: Tuks FM See the Sounds: A radio broadcast for the deaf
  • Music Show: The Tuks FM Top 40
  • Promotions Stunt/Event: Tuks FM See the Sounds: A radio broadcast for the deaf

Last year, Tuks FM also won six awards. 

Station Manager, Leanne Kunz, says while they had aimed for eight wins this year, they’re more than happy. “Our main aim has never been winning awards, although it is wonderful for the volunteers – who work so hard and give so much of their time and effort – to be recognised for their efforts. While we had hoped to improve on our tally from last year, we are very proud of the collective effort and achievements of the entire crew in winning these awards.”

Mike Bower, Tuks FM’s Programme Manager was thrilled at the outcome. “We are obviously ecstatic over our wins this year. I compare how the awards have changed over the last couple of years: the competition has become stronger and the awards have become tougher, which makes our wins all the more satisfying. I’m extremely proud of our team and look forward to another year of quality broadcasting.”

Read More